Men’s Tennis Suffers Heartbreak Defeat to Auburn, 4-3, in SEC Tournament

ATHENS, Ga. – No. 31 Ole Miss men’s tennis (16-12) fell 4-3 to No. 30 Auburn (19-9) in the second round of the SEC Men’s Tennis Championships on Thursday. The match came down to a deciding tiebreaker at No. 4 Singles.

The Rebels and Tigers competed in an extremely close matchup needing all seven decision points to be decided. The Tigers ultimately won the match, 4-3, ending the Rebels’ SEC Championship in the second round of play.

The No. 7 seeded Tigers started the match by sweeping doubles, 2-0. Auburn took No. 2 Doubles, 6-3, prior to winning at No. 1 Doubles in a tiebreak. No. 3 Doubles was halted in a tiebreak at the time of the opening point stoppage.

No. 10 seed Ole Miss rebounded quickly in singles to win at the No. 5 position at tie the match 1-1. Simon Junk convincingly defeated Auburn’s Finn Murgett 6-3, 6-1. The Rebels won four out of six first sets.

Auburn took a 2-1 match lead by claiming No. 3 Singles in two sets. All four other matches went to three sets. The Tigers then extended their lead to 3-1 as Will Nolan defeated Jan Soren Hain 3-6, 6-2, 6-3.

The Rebels earned two victories in rapid succession to once again tie the match, 3-3. Finn Reynolds defeated Jan Galka 6-3, 4-6, 6-3 and then No. 24 Nikola Slavic earned a win over Auburn’s No. 28 Tyler Stice 6-2, 3-6, 6-1. One match remained to decide which team advanced.

Lukas Engelhardt jumped ahead to a 5-2 lead in the third set at No. 4 Singles versus Auburn’s Raul Dobai. Dobai clawed back, taking the match to 6-6. Engelhardt led 6-5 in the tiebreak with a chance to win it for the Rebels. Dobai proceeded to win three consecutive points to take the tiebreak 8-6 and win the match for the Tigers. Auburn defeated Ole Miss 4-3.

Up Next: The NCAA Division I team tournament will be released in a selection show on May 2 at 5 pm CT. The singles and doubles brackets will be announced on May 3 in a press release.

Auburn 4, Ole Miss 3

1. # 11 Tad Maclean / Finn Murgett (Auburn) def. # 23 Finn Reynolds/Lukas Engelhardt (Ole Miss), 7-6 (0)
2. Tyler Stice / Jan Galka (Auburn) def. Jan Soren Hain/Simon Junk (Ole Miss), 6-3
3. Raul Dobai / Jackson Ross (Auburn) vs. Nikola Slavic/ John Hallquist Lithen (Ole Miss), 6-6, uf
Order of finish (2, 1)


1. # 24 Nikola Slavic (Ole Miss) def. # 28 Tyler Stice (Auburn), 6-2, 3-6, 6-1
2. Finn Reynolds (Ole Miss) def. Jan Galka (Auburn), 6-3, 4-6, 6-3
3. Tad Maclean (Auburn) def. John Hallquist Lithen (Ole Miss), 6-4, 6-3
4. Raul Dobai (Auburn) def. Lukas Engelhardt (Ole Miss), 6-2, 5-7, 7-6 (6)
5. Simon Junk (Ole Miss) def. Finn Murgett (Auburn), 6-3, 6-1
6. Will Nolan (Auburn) def. Jan Soren Hain (Ole Miss), 3-6, 6-2, 6-3
Order of finish (5,3, 6, 2, 1, 4)

For more information on Ole Miss Men’s Tennis, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @ OleMissMTennison Facebook at OleMissMTennis and on Instagram at OleMissMTennis, follow Coach Hansson on Twitter at @TennisToby.

Leave a Comment