INDIANAPOLIS – The IUPUI swimming and diving team celebrated their seniors with the women’s team defeating Butler, 160-101 and the men’s team taking down Wabash College, 168-104. Emmaleigh ZietlowGabby Puryear-Lynch and Sebastian Otero all set new IUPUI records in the sweep.

“This was the springboard we needed to get fired up and ready for conference,” said head coach Damon Dennis. “I’m glad we were able to celebrate our seniors today. Our seniors have done a great job with our program and have led us from ground zero to serious momentum.”

Although the dives did not total into the team scores, freshman Otero swept the men’s competition with a new school record in the 3-meter dive totaling 397.05 and won the 1-meter dive with a score of 337.28. Sadie Smith won both women’s events with a score of 265.88 in the 1-meter and 240.98 in the 3-meter.

“Our divers continue to do outstanding things,” said Dennis. “Sebastian continues to set record after record and is setting himself up for some historic things at conference. All the divers are performing at an elite team level.”

On the women’s side freshman Puryear-Lynch recorded the fastest times in the 50 fly, 100 fly and a new IUPUI record in the 200 fly with a time of 2:01.86. Zietlow also set an IUPUI record with a time of 1:57.90 in the 200 back while also clocking top times in the 500 free and 100 breast. Senior Avery Brooks won the 50 breast with a time of 29.50 while senior Emma Theobald won the 100 back with a time of 56.05 and the 400 IM with a time of 4:30.02. Senior Ali Sippel recorded the fastest time in the 200 breast with a time of 2:22.54.

“Zietlow won a top five time in the 100 breaststroke and team record in the 200 back. Lights out, fire,” said Dennis. “It was great to see Malaya Mancinelli really coming along in the 50 back. Gabby had another fantastic meet as a freshman with a team record and freshman record.”

For the men, the three seniors of Nick Dibley, Wes Wickens and Kevin Burke accounted for five first place finishes. Wickens won the 50 fly with a time of 22.60, Dibley won the 1000 free with a time of 9:39.45 and Burke took first in the 100 fly with a time of 48.77. Several other Jags recorded top times on the day.

Maxwell Bloom continues to hit best time after best time and really has some great momentum moving forward,” said Dennis. “I’m really pleased with our 500 free guys they have great swims today and continue to take serious steps forward.”

The IUPUI diving squad will have one more meet before conference when they host UIndy on January 26 at 2:00 PM. For the rest of the swim team they will now set their sights on the Horizon League Championships that will be held in the IUPUI Natatorium on February 15-18.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button