How to Level Up Quickly

Final Fantasy XI was one of the best MMORPGs at its peak in the early 2000s, as well as one of the most popular entries in the series. Franchise fans have recently flocked to the highly acclaimed game due to its low price tag. However, upon signing in to the game for the first time, newcomers quickly become frustrated by the lack of direction and need for level grinding.

The idea of ​​mindlessly grinding for months on end just to get to the main story content drives away new players. After all, the best way to play the game is to become over-leveled and then retroactively do content with Trusts. Without a seasoned veteran to guide them, newcomers would never know which methods to use in order to grind to level 99 in just a few weeks. Here are five of the best ways to level up as a brand-new player.

RELATED: What Final Fantasy XVI Can Learn From Its Predecessor

Use the Field Manual to Complete Individual Training

When leveling, new players usually just jump into the wilds outside the starter city and start attacking enemies. This strategy works fine until level five when an increasing amount of experience points become required to reach the next level. In order to boost the amount of experience points given from fallen mobs, players should take advantage of the Field Manuals scattered around Vana’diel.

Field Manuals host training regimens that award a hefty amount of experience points to the player in return for hunting down various mobs. Furthermore, Field Manuals have pages that are level-specific. For example, page one of the Field Manual in North Gustaberg asks for six worms and is designed to get players through level six. These regimens can be set to repeat automatically, saving players the long walk back to the book between each completion.

Complete ROEs for Sparks and Get XP Rings

Completing the Records of Eminence quests will award players with both experience points and Sparks. The Empress Ring is the most desirable item for those who are short on gil. It has a total of seven charges, and each use provides the player with an extra 50% experience point boost for up to 12 hours.

RELATED: Final Fantasy’s First Battle Royale Deserved Better Than a Mobile Phone Release

Additionally, since Sparks can be used to purchase a variety of gear through level 99, players should trade them to their local vendors in order to purchase better equipment to use against mobs. Sparks can be traded to Isakoth in Bastok, Rolandienne in San d’Oria, and Fhelm Jobeizat in Windurst.

Obtain a Chocobo License in Jeuno and Save Time

Obtaining a chocobo license is one of the most important quests in the game. FFXI has been heavily criticized for the amount of walking that new players are forced to do. With teleporting between home points costing hundreds of gil per use, newcomers will spend the majority of their time walking between areas or teleporting via Survival Guides and Unity Warps.

Completing the Chocobo License and Raptor Mount quests in Jeuno will award the player with their very first mount. From there on, players will save time when searching for Field Manual objectives and locating the next areas to farm.

RELATED: Final Fantasy VI Fans Recreate Kefka and Terra In Ethereal Cosplay

Make Use of the Final Fantasy XI’s Trust System

Final Fantasy XI created the Trust system in order to help new players advance through levels faster and enjoy high-end content without months of level grinding. Due to the game’s “open-ended” tutorial, most newcomers aren’t aware that the Trust system even exists. After completing the Trust tutorial and unlocking the basic Trust characters, players should make use of at least one tank, one healer, and two damage dealers, swapping out members based on the player’s current job.

Trusts are the same level as the player and automatically learn their level-appropriate skills, so they require no further investment. Players should note that if they level up, their Trust party will remain at the same level as when the player called them forth. Therefore, the player should recall their Trust every time they level up in order to maximize damage against enemies.

RELATED: How Final Fantasy 7 Influences Image’s New RPG-Themed Comic

Complete the Level Cap Missions

Players who struggle with the Quest menu usually gloss over the Level Cap section in the tutorial, leading to confusion when their character is suddenly level-capped. Upon reaching level 50, players will need to seek out Maat or the Nomad Moogle in Ru’Lude Gardens and complete the Level Cap missions in order to unlock higher levels. These quests are done in increments of five levels each and must be completed in order.

The quests require a significant amount of walking and farming for items, emphasizing the need for mounts in order to navigate the terrain in a timely manner. Upon trading the requested items to Maat or the Nomad Moogle, the player will be able to continue leveling as usual.

Leveling up in Final Fantasy XI doesn’t have to be a stressful experience. With these pointers, new players will find the process much smoother than leveling up blindly. Conversely, while leveling may be an important aspect of Final Fantasy XI, it isn’t the only thing that matters in the game. Exploring Vana’diel and getting to know the world through side-quests is just as important as the level grind for main story content.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button