Former Rising Star claims Blues’ club champ award

MIMI Hill has backed up her season six NAB AFLW Rising Star award with her first Carlton best and fairest.

The dynamic midfielder finished just two votes clear of partner-in-crime Abbie McKay, the pair having steered a young and inexperienced Blues engine room in season seven.

All-Australian ruck Breann Moody finished third, with rebounding defenders Mua Laloifi and Lucy McEvoy rounding out the top five.

The Blues’ top draftee Keeley Skepper won Rookie of the Year, with Laloifi taking out the player-voted Most Valuable Bluebagger.

McEvoy took out the Coaches Award, having performed strongly throughout the season despite carrying a shoulder issue and is now set to have surgery, with Laloifi also having undergone shoulder surgery post-season.

Scroll down to see the top 10 for each club, as well as the full list of award winners






86 votes: Mimi Hill
84 votes: Abbie McKay
61 votes: Breann Moody
57 votes: Buy Laloifi
52 votes: Lucy McEvoy
50 votes: Kerryn Peterson

Mimi Hill in action during round nine, 2022. Picture: AFL Photos

Rookie of the Year: Keeley Skepper
Most Valuable Bluebagger: Buy Laloifi
Coaches Award: Lucy McEvoy






169 votes: Kiara Bowers
114 votes: Hayley Miller
110 votes: Aine Tighe
103 votes: Emma O’Driscoll
98 votes: Ange Stannett
96 votes: Laura Pugh
93 votes: Mim Strom
91 votes: Sarah Verrier
88 votes: Megan Kauffman
83 votes: Jess Low

Player’s Award: Kiara Bowers
Best Clubwoman: Ange Stannett
Best First-Year Player: Orlagh Lally

How they vote: Players are allocated zero to five votes based on their performances from five of Fremantle’s coaches, meaning a player can earn a maximum of 25 votes in one game for a dominant performance.




279 votes: Charlie Rowbottom
240 votes: Alison Drennan
237 votes: Claudia Whitfort
214 votes: Vivien Saad
212 votes: Lauren Bella
210 votes: Lauren Ahrens
210 votes: Daisy D’Arcy
208 votes: Jac Dupuy
185 votes: Bess Keaney
182 votes: Tara Bohanna

Charlie Rowbottom in action in Gold Coast’s round five win over Port Adelaide at Bond University on September 25, 2022. Picture: AFL Photos

Players’ Player: Georgia Clayden
Most Professional: Bess Keaney
Coach’s Award: Jac Dupuy

How they vote: The Club Champion is voted on by head coach Cam Joyce and his three assistants, assigning players a score from one to 10 for every game, meaning the highest score a player can receive from any one match is 40 votes.


99 votes: Alyce Parker
69 votes: Georgia Garnett
68 votes: Tarni Evans
47 votes: Jodie Hicks
43 votes: Katherine Smith
37 votes: Nicola Barr
31 votes: Alicia Eva
29 votes: Madison Brazendale
29 votes: Annalyse Lister
28 votes: Cora Staunton

Alyce Parker in action in Greater Western Sydney’s S7 round 10 clash with Gold Coast at Henson Park. Image: Getty Images

Rising Star: Madison Brazendale
Giants Community Award: Ally Dallaway
Members Choice Award: Alice Parker
Mark of the Year: Katherine Smith
Goal of the Year: Tarni Evans
Defensive Moment of the Year: Katherine Smith
Leading Goalkicker: Cora Staunton
Jacinda Barclay Fearless Award: Georgia Garnett
Coaches Award: Katherine Smith


83 votes: Tilly Lucas-Rodd
74 votes: Aileen Gilroy
71 votes: Jasmine Fleming
56 votes: Kaitlyn Ashmore
55 votes: Lucy Wales
47 votes: Tamara Smith
46 votes: Charlotte Baskaran
38 votes: Akec Makur Chuot
32 votes: Catherine Brown
31 votes: Jess Duffin
31 votes: Tahlia Fellows

Best Club Person: Tamara Luke
Gold Standards Award: Aileen Gilroy (as voted by the players each week)
Most Improved: Tahlia Fellows
Rising Star: Jas Fleming












81 votes: Cynthia Hamilton
71 votes: Montana Ham
62 votes: Sofia Hurley
42 votes: Brooke Lochland
38 votes: Ella Heads
33 votes: Lauren Szigeti
31 votes: Molly Eastman
31 votes: Paige Sheppard
30 votes: Lisa Steane

Cynthia Hamilton in action for Sydney against Fremantle in round nine, 2022 at Henson Park. Image: Getty Images

Player’s Player: Montana Ham
Best Club Person: Alana Woodward

How they vote: The Sydney Swans’ four AFLW coaches vote 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 at the conclusion of each game. The maximum votes a player can receive each game is 20 votes.


43 votes: Emma Swanson
34 votes: Aisling McCarthy
33 votes: Isabella Lewis
32 votes: Charlie Thomas
31 votes: Ella Roberts
30 votes: Sophie McDonald
23 votes: Dana Hooker
19 votes: Courtney Rowley
17 votes: Belinda Smith
15 votes: Sarah Lakay

Emma Swanson celebrates a goal during round six, season seven, 2022. Picture: AFL Photos

Player Trademark Award: Isabella Lewis
Best First Year Player: Ella Roberts
Best Club Person: Evie Gooch



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button