2022 Bollé International Youth Match Racing Regatta at the CYCA

2022 Bollé International Youth Match Racing Regatta at the CYCA – Day 3

by Cruising Yacht Club of Australia 24 Nov 22:38 PST
22-25 November 2022

2022 Bollé International Youth Match Racing Regatta © Darcie Collington

Henri-Lloyd 2022 November - Gore-Tex - SW MPU
Upffront 2020 Foredeck Club SW MPU

The semi-finalists for the Bolle International Youth Match Racing Regatta have been decided, setting up for a Trans-Tasman showdown on the final day. The home club continues to lead the charge with Cole Tapper and Will Sargent both remaining undefeated on Day 3.

Before heading into the Quarter-Finals, the Race Committee had to complete the repechage stage to finalize the quarter finalist pairings. Yesterday, five teams earned direct entry into the quarter final stage, leaving three spots still up for grabs as again Sydney delivered near perfect conditions for racing.

Positioned north of Clark Island, the race course today so yet again tricky tactical decisions as a big tides also affected the race course.

Heading into the repechage round, Ethan Prieto-Low was determined to avenge his Day 2 misfortunes which saw the Western Australian unable to win a race. Today however, the champions of last weeks Harken ‘Rockin Robin’ Trophy, stormed back into favorites contention by winning the repechage then dispatched their quarter final opponent, American Max Brennan 3-1 later in the afternoon.

“We had a solid day today and it was good to get our mojo back. The racing was super tight in the quarter finals and full credit to Max and his team. We have loved racing him the past two weeks and we look forward to the challenge tomorrow to hopefully take another title home.” Commented Ethan back at the CYCA following racing.

The host Club, the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, backed up yesterday’s results with another strong on-water performance, with both the current regatta leader, Cole Tapper and fellow Club team Will Sargent winning their quarter-finals 3 – 0 over Zac West ( RSYS) and Jed Cruickshank (RPCYC) respectively.

The final pairings for the quarter-finals saw third seed Marcello Torre (RFBYC) select New Zealander Josh Hyde (RNZYS). The two teams took every match and leg to determine a winner with the Kiwis eventually coming out on top in a thrilling 3 – 2 final by only half a boat length in the final race.

The event now cuts down from eleven to four teams as they continue to battle for this year’s ‘Joy Ride’ Perpetual Trophy.

Tomorrow is the final day of the event, where a new champion will be crowned. The semi-finals will commence at 1200hrs, with the Finals scheduled for 1430hrs.

J Composites 2022 - J99 MPU


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button