10th Police Martyrs Memorial T20 Cricket C’ship concludes – Jammu Kashmir Latest News | Tourism

Winning team celebrating victory by holding trophy presented by DGP Dilbag Singh at Sports Stadium Kathua on Tuesday. – Excelsior / Pardeep Sharma

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

KATHUA, Mar 8: The 10th Police Martyrs Memorial T-20 Cricket Championship, organized by J&K Police Shaheed Welfare Committee, concluded at Sports Stadium, here today.
Director General of Police (DGP), Dilbag Singh was the chief guest of the closing ceremony.
While speaking on the occasion, the DGP complimented the Shaheed Welfare Committee and sponsors of the event for organizing the successful championship. He also appreciated the people of Kathua for their active support to make the event a big success.
The chief guest distributed trophies and prizes among the winner and runner-up teams and also awarded the management committee members.
Earlier, the DGP paid tribute to the martyrs, followed by an interaction with the martyr’s families’ members and also distributed gifts among them and thanked the organizing committee and sponsors for their outstanding contribution.
The DGP said that drug menace is a big challenge after the militancy in J&K. He said that big consignments of drugs are seized by police and other agencies in J&K recent past which were smuggled through IB border by drone and other means. He has asked the civil society to support the police to eradicate the drugs from society.
“The elements who involved in hurling grenade in Kashmir recently are identified and will be dealt with iron hands,” he asserted.
SSP Kathua, RC Kotwal welcomed the chief guest and other guests and gave a brief of the tournament as well as other sport initiatives which were taken by the District Police during the year 2021-22 in presence of senior Police officers including ADGP Jammu Zone, Mukesh Singh, SSP Samba Dr Abhishek Mahajan, CO IRP 19th Battalion, Benam Tosh, Principal PTS Kathua, Roop Raj Bhagat and officials of civil administration.
The final match of the tournament was witnessed by the large gathering, wherein a total of 16 teams participated. The final match was played between LB Shastri Cricket Club Delhi and Vicky-XI Pathankot.
LB Shastri CC won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, LB Shastri C scored 100 runs in the stipulated 20 overs for the loss of 8 wickets, while the opponent team (Vicky-XI Pathankot) chased the set target easily in 15.5 overs by losing only 2 wickets and registered 8 wickets win over the LB Shastri CC.
Ankit Choudhary was declared as the man of the match for his outstanding performance in the finals and was awarded with cash prize of Rs 20000 along with trophy, while title of man of series was won by Sohraab Dhaliwal who scored 155 runs and clinched 6 wickets as well as 4 crucial catches in the series and was awarded with Maruti Car Alto-800.
Som Veer (Sabi Cricket Club Hoshiarpur) was declared the best bowler who took 10 wickets and remained the most economical bowler during the tournament, while Koushal Suman (LB Shastri Club Delhi) was declared the best batsman who scored 159 runs in the series and both were awarded motorbikes for their splendid performance.
The wining team was awarded with trophy and cash prize of Rs 3.50 lakh, whereas runner-up team was given cash prize of Rs 2.50 lakh.

Previous articleScheduled Intl flights from March 27
Next articlePWS shows concern over hike in bus fare by private schools

The Leading Daily of Jammu and Kashmir, India

Leave a Comment